

2023 Annual Business Meeting Minutes Thursday, October 26, 2023 Marriott Hotel and Conference Center, Normal, IL

1. Call to Order/Welcome: President Katy Saalfeld called the meeting to order at 1:23 p.m. Katy welcomed everyone to this year's conference and specially recognized the large number of first-time attendees. Katy also recognized the five conference sponsors. At the Bronze level were Civitas Learning and Imaging Office Systems, Inc. Stellic and Mutara, Inc. were Silver level sponsors. Paradigm, Inc. was our Platinum level sponsor for this year's conference.

2. AACRAO Report

Roslyn Perry was present to share updates from AACRAO. Roslyn started by sharing the three bylaw changes that were approved at the 2023 AACRAO annual meeting. First was a change to the voting rules that allows voting members to attend and vote virtually at the annual meeting beginning in 2024. Next was a change to membership structure. Institutional dues will now be based on the institution's budget expenditures as reported to IPEDS. In the past, dues were based on FTE reported to IPEDS. In addition, there will no longer be roster limits; institutions can add as many members as they would like. The last change was an update to the budgeting process. The new budgeting process is as follows. The budget is to be prepared in June and sent to the Finance Investment and Audit (FI&A) Committee for review. After review, the FI&A committee will hold town hall meetings to get membership feedback on the proposed budget. The Board will then approve the budget in August in preparation for implementation on October 1.

Roslyn also shared AACRAO's new campaign policy. This policy prevents endorsement of or encouragement to vote for any particular candidate. Membership and board members may encourage membership participation and voting in general but not for any particular candidate. Roslyn ended her update by sharing upcoming AACRAO events along with resources available on the website for AACRAO members.

3. Reports from Officers

a. Secretary

Secretary Abby Schierer presented the minutes from the 2022 Annual Business Meeting.

Motion: It was moved by Angela Snow and seconded by Todd Kato to approve the 2022 annual business minutes. Motion was approved with no objections.

b. **Treasurer**

Mark Mountain shared a budget update handout with membership and summarized that our accounts are healthy. Mark thanked the group for their patience as he worked to update the membership list and conference registration via MemberClicks. Marked shared that 31 schools had already renewed their membership for next year.

This year we had around 75 attendees at the conference. We currently have a total of 878 active members in our database and the board will be reaching out to member institutions to ensure their membership list is up to date. He also shared that Kankakee Community College has joined IACRAO for the first time and that Illinois Central College has rejoined after taking a year off.

Budgeting has become more difficult post-COVID as anticipating costs have become harder. Our current revenue sources are membership dues and conference registration fees. The proposed budget currently estimates a deficit but that may not be the case in reality. For example, we have a line item for Board travel expenses in regards to board meetings but we have been holding those meetings virtually eliminating that expense.

Motion: Kyle Merkle motioned to accept the 2024-2025 IACRAO Budget as presented, seconded by Dena Lawrence. Motion approved with no objections.

c. **Equal Educational Opportunities Officer – Tedra Mewhirter** Tedra was not present and did not share any updates.

d. Professional Activities Officer - Sarah Hartman

Sarah had to step out of the meeting. President Katy Saalfeld shared Sarah's update that the Bright Idea competition will be back next year.

e. Archivist Report - Nathan McCoy

Nate was not present at the meeting. Katy reminded all of those in attendance to send any additions for the archive to Nate.

4. President Reports

a. Past President - Jennifer Harbaugh

Past President Jennifer Harbaugh started by sharing this year's scholarship recipients. IACRAO awards two scholarships at \$1,000 each

to students who attended a member 2-year institution and have transferred to a member 4-year institution this semester.

The Leadership and Service award went to Maggee Bleyer. Maggee attended Wabash Valley College and is now attending Illinois State University majoring in journalism. The Leadership and Service for Underrepresented Students scholarship went to Detavia Moore. Detavia attended Parkland College before transferring to Illinois State University to study early childhood education.

Next Jennifer shared the slate of nominees for the following positions opening this year.

President-Elect – Mark Mountain, Olivet Nazarene University
Treasurer-Elect – Alex Berry, Millikin University
Secretary – Tammy Thomas, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Equal Educational Opportunity Officer - Abby Schierer, Bradley University
Professional Activities Officer – Todd Kato, University of Illinoi Urbana-Champaign

Motion: It was moved by Pam Walden and seconded by Michelle White to close nominations for the new slate of officers. Motion approved with no objections.

Motion: Dena Lawrence moved to accept the slate of officers and was seconded by Stacey Ramsey. Motion approved with no objections.

Jennifer had no bylaw changes to propose.

b. President-Elect - Tiffani Robertson

Tiffani thanked everyone for coming to conference, presenting, and volunteering. She encouraged membership to start think about next year's conference and consider collaborating with someone to present together. Tiffani also reminded members to please complete the session evaluations and the full conference evaluation at the end.

c. President - Katy Saalfeld

Katy shared her appreciation for the opportunity to serve as President. She also thanked the members of the Board. She was happy to announce that all of the District Meetings were in person this year for the first time since COVID.

d. **Awards**

Awards were given to the following individuals whose terms ended this year:

Rebecca Ruffin, Northeast District Chair (not present)

Amanda DeSimon, Northwest District Chair (not present)

Holly Pflum, East Central District Chair

Chase Dillworth, West Central District Chair (not present)

Shannon Warnecke, Southern District Chair (not present)

Abby Schierer, Secretary

Mark Mountain, Treasurer
Geoff Glowacki, Treasurer-Elect
Sarah Hartman, Professional Activities Officer
Tedra Mewhirter, Equal Educational Opportunities Officer (not present)
Jennifer Harbaugh, Past-President

5. Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

6. New Business

The 102nd Annual Conference will be held October 23-25, 2024 at the DoubleTree Hotel Chicago-Alsip, IL.

7. Passing of the Gavel

At this time, the gavel was passed from Katy Saalfield to Tiffani Robertson, as Tiffani became the new IACRAO President. Tiffani awarded certificates of recognition to the following individuals who were instrumental in helping her plan this year's conference, Pam Walden, Mark Mountain, Angela Snow, and Katy Saalfeld. Tiffani also expressed her thanks to the other individuals from ISU who stepped in to help but were not in attendance at the meeting.

8. Adjournment

Motion: It was moved by Lauren Adams and seconded by Kyle Merkle to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 2:19 p.m.